Diary of a Lousy Housewife

It’s Been a While

Posted on: November 19, 2009

We’ve had all sorts of germs around our house the past few weeks, so I haven’t been up for posting. Of course, I also haven’t been up for cleaning, so my house has descended into horrors once again. I’m slowly clawing my way back–there is only about one load of dirty dishes sitting on the counters; the laundry is ever-so-slowly refilling the empty dresser drawers; and the mountains of random crap are being scaled.

The problem, as Mr. Lousy would tell you, is that when you let things build up (and up and up and up) they become impossible if something comes up (work, sick child, broken dryer). Unfortunately, something always comes up. It’s really been depressing me lately and, of course, that leads to a lack of motivation. With the girls home sick all day, they make more of a mess than when they’re at school in the mornings, so I find myself cleaning up the same things every day. I’m sounding very whiny right now, which I know needs to stop.

My girls’ playroom had become a complete dump and, in a bit of a rage, I started packing up all of their toys and putting them into the playroom closet. Now they have about 10%, if that, of their toys remaining in the room and, if the room is kept neat, every week they can reclaim one box of toys (after I first go through and pitch anything broken or out-grown). My oldest is starting to understand the concept of money, so I’m also motivating her with the promise of financial reward. We’ll see if it works, it’s not like she doesn’t have everything in the world to begin with!

Leave a Reply

Dust Bunnies

