Diary of a Lousy Housewife

Hmm, what is that smell?

Posted on: October 29, 2009

Never a good thing to be asking… In this instance, it started with my youngest pouring chocolate milk into the cup holder on her car seat which I then decided would be easily soaked up by cheap fast food napkins. Fast forward about a week later and you get a nasty fermented smell in my back seat. Lovely.

Sadly, this is not the first time that odor has struck my house. Earlier in the summer, our dryer stopped working for two weeks. I had (of course) already been way behind on laundry, so the piles became completely ridiculous. The girls and I were going to visit my in-laws, so I loaded up something like 6-7 huge trash bags full of clothing, towels, sheets, etc, etc, etc, and brought it up there. My horribly efficient MIL had it all washed within two days–of course. We came home, only to find the dryer not working again!

Now, it’s been fixed for over a month and I’m still not caught back up. 😦 The biggest part of the problem is that I put in a load, wash it, and then forget to put it in the dryer. Smelly laundry results. I have loads I’ve washed 3-4 times before they make it to the dryer. We just replaced our washer & dryer, but when the time comes to do it again, I might spring for the all-in-one units that wash & dry. They cost more and they can only do one load at a time, but at least I wouldn’t end up having to rewash things so many times they get holes in them! Or maybe I could just learn to get off my a** and put the laundry in the dryer.

1 Response to "Hmm, what is that smell?"

and this one more thing we have in common.. smelly laundry πŸ˜€ Hahahaha! I always thought I was the only one suffering from this I swear!!!

The other part of the problem is folding the laundry when it’s actually dry and hopefully smelling anything like fresh laundry.. sometimes even if I manage to do it all, it’s never folded but rather scattered around the living room or, in case we have visitors, stacked in the closet…

Maybe I should get myself a dryer.. or an annual subscription with the laundry service downstairs so they can do the cleaning, folding and the ironing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Dust Bunnies

